OUR CEDARS

Our passion is your satisfaction

occidentalis-blanc

THE EASTERN WHITE CEDAR

The indispensable cedar hedge

Thuja occidentalis is a native species commonly known as cedar, as common cedar, or as white arborvitae. It is undoubtedly the conifer mostly used in the making of high and dense hedges. Its green foliage will pale during winter, and its growth is rapid. Optimal conditions will allow a growth of 30 to 60 cm per year, once rooted. The roots are spread out, very fibrous and shallow. At full maturity, it can reach up to 12 to 18 m in height. An annual trim is thus necessary and will ideally be performed during summer. The Thuja occidentalis is hardy in zone 2.

meters of maximum height
meters of maximum width

TYPE OF HABIT

  • Conical or columnar
  • Large

THE BLACK CEDAR

The hybrid cedar hedge

Thuja occidentalis 'Nigra' is a hybrid variety derived from eastern white cedar (Thuja occidentalis). This cultivar is popular for its appearance which remains dark green even during dormancy. Its habit is similar to the one of the white cedar, and is also mainly used in the making of hedges. Although smaller in size than white cedar, the eastern black cedar can reach up to 6 m in height, and to 3 m in width. An annual trim is therefore necessary. It should be noted that the ‘Nigra’ is more likely to produce seeds than is the white cedar.

meters of maximum height
meters of maximum width

TYPE OF HABIT

  • Conical
  • Large

nigra-cedre-noir
thuya-fastigiata-compacta

FASTIGIATA COMPACTA CEDAR

High and colomnar, for more privacy

Thuja occidentalis 'Fastigiata Compacta' (or Pyramidalis Compacta) has a narrow and regular columnar habit. It is mostly used in the making of high hedges, or is rather planted in isolation.   It is hardy up to zone 2b, and does not tolerate shade very well, just like most cedars.  Its growth is rapid and can reach up to 9 m in height.  Its fibrous roots make transplanting quite easy. Attaining 1 m wide only at full maturity, 'Fastigiata Compacta' is an ideal selection for planting in a small yard. Although trimming the ‘Fastigiata Compacta’ seems quite easy, it remains somehow unnecessary for its well-maintenance.

meters of maximum height
meters of maximum width

TYPE OF HABIT

  • Columnar
  • Narrow

BRANDON CEDAR

Unique by the density of its light green foliage

Thuja occidentalis 'Brandon' has narrow and columnar shape. Its growth is considered average and its foliage is thick and very dense. When reaching maturity, Thuya occidentalis 'Brandon' can reach up to 6 m in height. It is used in the making of high hedges, or is rather planted in isolation. Hardy up to zone 3, it does not tolerate shade very well, just like most cedars. Its fibrous roots make transplanting quite easy. Like 'Fastigiata compacta', it is an ideal selection for planting in a small yard. Although trimming ‘Brandon’ seems quite easy, it remains somehow unnecessary for the well-maintenance of this cultivar’s properties.

meters of maximum height
meters of maximum width

TYPE OF HABIT

  • Narrow
  • Columnar

Brandon Cedar
thuya-occidentalis-Smaragd-Emerald

EMERALD GREEN CEDAR

The emerald green pyramidal arborvitae

Thuja occidentalis 'Emerald’ is renowned for its bright green foliage. It is usually planted in isolation, but can also be planted in hedgerows. 'Smaragd' is planted in zone 5 in order to maintain its ornamental appearance, or in zone 4 - although protection against winter browning may be required. It tends to thin out more easily than other cedar varieties when placed within the shade, and hardly regenerates after having been damaged by wind, by the lack of light, or because of a severe pruning.  Besides, trimming is not necessary.

meters of maximum height
meters of maximum width

TYPE OF HABIT

  • Pyramidal
  • Narrow and regular

HOLMSTRUP CEDAR

The rustic pyramidal cedar

Thuja occidentalis 'Holmstrup' has a compact and conical shape. It is a slow-growing variety that remains small with a maximum growth of about 3 m in height and 1 m in width. Holmstrup 'deserves to be better known as it is hardy until zone 2b: it is a variety of pyramidal cedar that would be preferred if you live north of Montreal. It is generally used for a focal point and mass planting but can also be used as a screen when planted in hedge. Trimming is not necessary.

meters of maximum height
meters of maximum width

TYPE OF HABIT

  • Compact
  • Conical
thuya holmstrup

STAY TUNED

With our latest blog posts!

We truly care about the experience of our customers, hence why it is in our best interests to provide you with relevant information about your cedars. Our blog offers a multitude of articles about cedar planting, cedar care, winter protection, and more. In case our articles did not cover your main concerns, do not hesitate to contact one of our specialists.

CONTACT US

Cedre-Blanc-laval-cedriere

Born into a family of farmers, Gabriel Barbe represents the 4th generation of cultivators on the island of Laval. For having grown up on the farm, he took over from his grandfather Gérard Barbe in 2006, and established La Cédrière Barbe. The land constitute now nearly 150 000 cedar trees, also known as Arborvitae.

Monday to Thursday: 7am to 5pm

Friday: 7am to 4pm

Saturday & sunday: CLOSED

(450) 627-6999

(450) 627-3555

Map-cedriere-rive-nord

NOS CÈDRES

Notre passion, votre satisfaction

thuya occidentalis cedre blanc

LE CÈDRE BLANC

L'incontournable cèdre à haie

Le thuya occidental (thuja occidentalis) est une espèce indigène communément appelée cèdre, cèdre blanc ou cèdre commun. Il est sans aucun doute le conifère le plus utilisé pour la confection de haie haute et dense. Le feuillage d'un beau vert clair du cèdre blanc prendra une teinte bronzée l'hiver venu et sa croissance est rapide. Dans des conditions optimales vous assisterez à une croissance de 30 à 60 cm par année, une fois enraciné. Les racines sont étalées, très fasciculées et peu profonde. À maturité, il peut atteindre 12 à 18 m de hauteur. Une taille annuelle est donc nécessaire et s’effectuera durant la saison estivale. Le thuya occidental est rustique en zone 2.

Mètre d'hauteur maximal
Mètre de largeur maximal

TYPE DE PORT

  • Conique ou Colonnaire
  • Large

LE CÈDRE NOIR

Le cèdre à haie hybride

Le thuya occidental ‘Nigra’ (thuja occidentalis Nigraest une variété hybride issue du cèdre blanc (Thuja occidentalis). Ce cultivar est populaire pour son aspect qui demeure vert foncé même en période de dormance. Son port est similaire au cèdre blanc et il est lui aussi utilisé principalement pour la confection de haie. Si son calibre est de moins grande envergure que celui du cèdre blanc, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’à maturité, le cèdre ’Nigra’ peut atteindre 6 m de hauteur et 3 m de largeur. Une taille annuelle est donc également de rigueur. Il est à noter que le cèdre noir est plus susceptible de produire des semences que le cèdre blanc.

Mètre d'hauteur maximal
Mètre de largeur maximal

TYPE DE PORT

  • Conique
  • Large

thuya nigra cèdre noir
thuya fastigiata compacta

LE CÈDRE FASTIGIÉ

Un cèdre haut, colonnaire et sans entretien

Le thuya occidental ‘Fastigiata Compacta’ (thuja occidentalis fastigiata ou 'Pyramidalis Compacta') possède un port colonnaire étroit et régulier.  Il est utilisé pour la confection de haies hautes ou planté en isolé.  Rustique jusqu’en zone 3, il tolère peu l’ombre comme tous les cèdres.  Sa croissance est rapide et peut atteindre 9 m de hauteur.  Ses racines fasciculées rendent la transplantation facile.  Avec seulement 1,5 m de largeur à maturité, le thuya occidental ‘Fastigiata Compacta’ est un candidat idéal pour la plantation dans une cour de petite dimension.  Bien que la taille se pratique aisément, celle-ci n’est pas nécessaire afin de conserver les propriétés du cultivar.

Mètre d'hauteur maximal
Mètre de largeur maximal

TYPE DE PORT

  • Étroit et régulier
  • Colonnaire

LE CÈDRE BRANDON

Unique par la densité de son feuillage, il crée un écran sans entretien

Le thuya occidental ‘Brandon(thuja occidentalis Brandon) possède un port étroit et colonnaire. La croissance moyenne de ses tiges lui permet de développer un feuillage dense. À maturité, le cèdre ‘Brandon’ peut atteindre 6 m de hauteur. Il est utilisé pour la confection de haies hautes ou planté en isolé. Rustique jusqu’en zone 3, il tolère peu l’ombre comme tous les cèdres. Ses racines fasciculées rendent la transplantation facile. Tout comme ‘Fastigiata Compacta’, il est un candidat idéal pour la plantation dans une cour de petite dimension. Bien qu’elle se pratique aisément, la taille n’est pas nécessaire afin de conserver les propriétés du cultivar.

Mètre d'hauteur maximal
Mètre de largeur maximal

TYPE DE PORT

  • Étroit
  • Colonnaire

thuya brandon
thuya-occidentalis-Smaragd-Emerald

LE CÈDRE SMARAGD (EMERALD)

Le cèdre pyramidal au vert Émeraude

Le thuya occidental ‘Smaragd' (thuja occidentalis Smaragd) est très populaire pour son feuillage vert brillant. Il porte parfois le nom ‘Emerald’. Il est souvent planté en isolé, mais il peut aussi être planté en haie.  Le cèdre ‘Smaragd’ est planté en zone 5 pour conserver son aspect ornemental ou en zone 4 bien qu’une protection contre la dessiccation hivernale puisse s'avérer nécessaire. Il a tendance à se dégarnir plus facilement que les autres variétés de cèdres lorsqu’il est placé à l’ombre et se régénère très difficilement après avoir subi des dommages causés par le vent, le manque de lumière ou une taille sévère. La taille est d’ailleurs très rarement pratiquée.

Mètre d'hauteur maximal
Mètre de largeur maximal

TYPE DE PORT

  • Pyramidal
  • Étroit et régulier

LE CÈDRE HOLMSTRUP

Le cèdre pyramidal rustique

Le thuya occidental ‘Holmstrup(thuja occidentalis Holmstrup) possède un port compact et conique.  C'est une variété à croissance lente qui reste petite avec une croissance maximale d’environ 3 m de hauteur et de 1 m de largeur.  Holmstrup' gagnerait à être connu puisqu'il est rustique jusqu'en zone 2b: il s'agit d'une variété de cèdre pyramidale qui serait à privilégier si vous résidez au nord de Montréal et de sa banlieue. Il est généralement utilisé en isolé ou en massif mais peut également servir d'écran lorsqu'il est planté en haie.  La taille est n'est pas nécessaire pour ce cultivar.

Mètre d'hauteur maximal
Mètre de largeur maximal

TYPE DE PORT

  • Pyramidal
  • Compact
thuya holmstrup

RESTEZ À L'AFFÛT

Grâce à notre blogue !

Nous avons cœur l'expérience de nos clients. C'est pourquoi nous croyons qu'il est d'une importance primordiale que vous soyez en mesure de trouver rapidement de l'information utile et pertinente concernant vos cèdres. Notre blogue offre une multitude d'articles concernant la plantation de vos cèdres, l'entretien des cèdres, la protection hivernale de ceux-ci, etc. Dans le cas où votre question ne serait pas répondue, n'hésitez surtout pas à communiquer avec l'un de nos spécialistes à notre Cédrière.

NOUS CONTACTER

Cedre-Blanc-laval-cedriere

Près de 150 000 Thuyas occidentalis d'une qualité hors du commun vous attendent à la Cédrière Barbe. Un choix de cèdres incomparable pour répondre aux besoins et aux goûts de chacun.

FERMÉ POUR L'HIVER

Au plaisir de vous revoir au printemps prochain!

(450) 627-6999

(450) 627-3555

Map-cedriere-rive-nord